Homeschool until now

My personal opinion homeschool is an action where parent have to take full responsibility of their children academic, practical, well being, behaviour and etc at home. I’m sure every kid is being homeschool but until a certain age, half of the responsibility is hand over to the teachers at kindy/nursery. Some parents even to the extend to get the teacher to potty train their kids.

Me? We started J as soon as he is born… haha.. talking to him, teaching him to count is a form of homeschool too ya. Until a certain age, 3.5yo like most working parent who send the kids to kindy I decided that i want to continue to homeschool him. Promoting to a different level, where i want to teach him to write and count myself at home. I know i can do it. What so hard about it rite? Printouts are everywhere to be downloaded. So i started with A, B, C …. and then awhile more D and E. The whole damn process took me like 4months?? His pace can actually learn A in 3-4days but i drag to a week to make sure he really could do it. But then i got lazy on the way.. then i had a few weeks holiday while in Malacca, so i skip the homeschool. Then a couple of days being lazy due to sickness and laziness. I realise i’m taking very long but i really don’t care pressuring him.

it really takes a lot of discipline to homeschool. as a very normal person, nothing special or spectacular i decided to get lazy :S wanted to give up and just hand over to the teacher to do it like other parents… then my buddy bring me back to the path again. (ya she is like an angel)

Then ppl start to tell me, at primary one, they start to write simple essay. Given a picture they are suppose to write a few sentence to describe the picture. I got panic. My son can’t even write his own name! Start to ask around for shcools and decided he shld start kindy immediately. Talk to a few parents and then i got relax .. not all kindy are so advanced and not all kids can cope. So even tho primary one suppose to be knowing all those, i dun think all kids can cope. And there are still kindy who gv alot homework and parent at home are/SHOULD be the teacher. So back to square one. Homeschool.. so why pay the teachers to give homework and mothers to guide? Don’t tell me they need to social at school. My son don’t face me alone at home, my neighbourhood had enough kids to mix around. Every evening they will be running, cycling and even come to my house to play. ya~~ i live in a kampung but it fun to hv a childhood with friends other than schoolmates (like mama used to be) So i’m more confirm that my decision to homeschool him is not really that bad.

After i got abit relax, my neighbour start to tell me her dotter age 4 can read Peter and Jane book 4 by herself! i’m like WTF. she is homeschool. so why does her homeschool and mine totall out? Her dotter even can read the intructions on the workbook in bahasa. She might not know the meaning but she can read! (Ya i curi dengar when she tutor her dotter) Panic strikes in. Then the other neighbour starts to tell me the syllabus for 5yr old is to spell words like person, tongue with many letters and chinese character is more than 7 strokes! Darn. Panic 2 strikes! My son still can’t write his name! Now i’m really panic bcoz i intend to send him to school next yr (age 5) and he can’t even write yet!

Today hubby got abit of time to go rounding for kindy. Manage to went into 2 kindy to talk to the principles. Kindy (1) Q-dees, principle did not force kids to catch up to the level. Her way is to let the kids catch up accordingly to their own pace. There is 1 boy who is running arnd and she told me the boy didn’t want to sit in the class but they just let him be. She also explain to me that J will be put into a 3yo class for the start to mix (if i decided to start now) and then next yr to see if he can cope. I’m quite comfortable with her “thinking” and her amount of students in the class. Not more than 10? I am quite surprise. Either they are really lousy or they are really expensive.

Kindy (2), chinese based. Very stressed. The moment i step in, i’m stressed. It’s full pack of things. Many children. She even told me my son need to hv assessment before entering the class. This point had made me “out” them. Soree, i’m not a result oriented parent. i dun need to see end of the day my son can read or write at young age. i just need them to learn not force. so when she starts to explain i’m starting to drift away~~

Kindy (3), (4) and (5) will be on next week. Let’s see how~~

Observation, not all kindy are so stress where they need to spell what ever yada-yada at what age. I can still choose a more relax kindy for him but at the same time, he can learn at his own pace. As long as he can write A-Z and 1-9, ya i’m happy 😀 but then..there was this real life story of a boy who refuse to go for his piano class and then being force, for 3 years. now he is loving music and learning 5 other instruments following is own love for music. Question.. is forcing a necessary for children who can’t decide yet?

(frankly i dun believe all std 1 children can already read and write loh)

Posted in BB | Tagged

Leave a Reply

